Election race begins

TWENTY-two candidates have nominated for Latrobe City Council’s four wards for the 26 October postal election.

Following the Tuesday noon deadline, six candidates nominated for Central Ward, eight for East Ward, two for South Ward and six for West Ward, all vying for the nine councillor positions.

Latrobe City residents can expect big changes following the October election including a new electoral structure implemented following the Victorian Electoral Commission review announced earlier this year.

Latrobe City will now be divided into four wards.

East Ward includes Toongabbie, Glengarry, Traralgon, Traralgon East, Traralgon South, Hazelwood North and Hazelwood South; Central Ward includes Maryvale, Morwell, Hazelwood and Yallourn North; West Ward includes Newborough and Moe; and South Ward includes Churchill, Yinnar and Boolarra.

After the close of the nominations, a computerised ballot draw was held on Tuesday which determined the order candidates will appear on the ballot paper.

Only one current councillor, Farley Ward’s Lisa Price, will not contest the elections.

For more information about the candidates, elections and how to vote, go to www.vec.vic.gov.au