Morwell Fire Brigade elections

Leader: New Morwell Fire Brigade captain Wayne Draper. Photograph supplied


MORWELL Fire Brigade has elected Wayne Draper as its new captain.

The brigade wishes to thank outgoing captain Peter Keenan for his service and commitment to the Morwell Brigade and wider community during his tenure.

Mr Draper joined the Morwell Brigade in 1986 and was made active in April 1987.

His association with the brigade has seen him in many positions and awarded for his many acts of service: 20 year medal in 2006, 25 year clasp in 2011 and 30 year medal in 2016.

He held the position of 2nd Lieutenant from July 1998 to June 2002. His dedication and service to the brigade has seen him awarded the National Medal in 2005 and the National Emergency Medal for his role in the 2009 Victorian Fires.

Wayne’s involvement was also invaluable as FEM Officer for six years.

Morwell Brigade looks forward to working with Wayne and the BMT.

Rodney Lucas has retired as treasurer and will continue as a volunteer.

Rod (Mr Lucas) joined the Brigade in 1967 and took on the secretary job in 1988 and the treasurer’s job in 2004.

Morwell Fire Brigade, proudly services the Morwell community as well as surrounding greater Latrobe Valley region.