Aphale ton stumps Bombers



KAUSHIK Aphale struck a fine century as Latrobe heaped misery upon Yallourn North, reaching 7/343 on the first day of the EnergyAustralia Cup’s ninth round.

Anthony Bloomfield and Mark Lawrence put on an opening stand of 86 before Bloomfield was well stumped by Aidan Vesty.

Aphale and Lawrence then added 126 for the second wicket before the latter fell for 73.

With a solid platform set, the middle order of Michael Duncan and Patrick Farrant cashed in against tired bowlers.

Glenn Sheekey bowled well with 3/53 but did not get much help as the other trundlers leaked runs.

Thorpdale looked to be in the box seat against Trafalgar after sinking the Ships for 138 thanks to Jason Richardson and Henk Conradie, who shared seven wickets between them.

Cohan Lee and Aiden George were the only Trafalgar bats to show any fight in a disappointing total.

With about 30 overs still to be bowled, Rhys Holdsworth wrecked the Blues’ top order with 7/39, his second seven-wicket haul this season. David Bremner chipped in with 2/12 to bundle the Blues out for 81 and seal first-innings points on day one.

Andrew Philip’s 92 was the backbone of Moe’s innings as the Lions finished with 199 all out.

Sean Spiteri and Justin Mathison both scored 27 to offer some support, but the Lions were frustrated by the accuracy of Brad Grima who collected 3/24 from 12 overs, and their lower order was confounded by the spin of Dale Banks who claimed 4/47.

Mirboo North started poorly in their chase with 13 overs faced.

Matt Snell was dismissed by Aaron Walshe and the Tigers are currently 1/17 at stumps, with Clinton Wise unbeaten on 16 and Ben Heath yet to score.

Second grade

RAWSON had a comfortable win over Trafalgar after the Ships were dismissed for just 81.

Shane Nelson’s 4/24 tore through the top order.

Dylan Lee and Ben Rotheram then chased the runs comfortably before a middle order collapse, triggered by Jayke Atkin’s three wickets, gave the Ships hope of a quick finish.

Dwayne Massese made sure the Kookaburras took plenty of bonus points though; his aggressive 70 in partnership with Nelson (52) pushed Rawson past 200.

Latrobe recovered from being 5/45 to post 9/147 against Yallourn North, with Glen Steele (35) and Zac Smith (40*) helping to boost the Sharks’ total.

Andrew Shaw was the Bombers’ best with 3/26.

Elliot de Carli scored 29 but none of the other bats got going as Mitch Cowell (2/25) and Paul Dawson (3/29) removed the top order before skipper Jon Hayes (5/22) mopped up the tail as the Bombers were cleaned up for 85.

Jeeralang-Boolarra reached 6/207 against 10-man Moe after Craig Blackberry (60) and Ryan Wilk (44) put on 107 for the first wicket.

Some late hitting from Dillon Leys (33) boosted the Panthers past the 200 run-mark.

In reply the Lions were rolled for 49 as only Jacob Mulqueen and Joel Mitchell reached double figures.

Stan Urbanic (3/11) and Glen Nijenhuis (3/14) were the destroyers.

Morwell’s first grade bye enabled Riyaz Pathan and Jesse Giardina to hit half centuries in the seconds as the Tigers reached 6/205 against Saint Vincents.

Michael O’Brien’s 3/26 was the Saints’ best.

Troy Tobin’s 32* was the only resistance as the Tigers razed the Saints for 115.

Dean White took 3/26 while Tim Dowe and Steven Esler each took 2/20.

Newborough reached 7/202 to defeat Thorpdale’s 6/69.

Third grade

Brody Hams hit a fine 74 to push Willow Grove to 7/229 against Saint Vincent’s Whites, with Jarryd Cutler (38) and Nathan Perkins (46) playing outstanding supporting knocks. 

Perkins then cleaned up with 5/15 as the Saints were steamrollered for 50 in less than 17 overs. 

Dean Burridge (49), Luke Van Dyke (40) and Daniel Martin (37) played fine innings to get Latrobe to 201 against Hazelwood North. Robert Byrne took 4/46 to restrict the late dash for quick runs.

Aggression from Brad McBride, Mohammed Shakeel and Jayden Hawkins lifted the Razorbacks to 6/170 with plenty of overs remaining.

Tony Cardillo’s 43 looked to have guided them all but home before Toran Patching took 4/15 and they were bundled out for 195. 

Moe accounted for Newborough with the Lions reaching 5/190. 

Trent Baldi, Robert Straughair, and Steven and Clinton Rennie all made starts, while John Parker took 2/23 for the Bulldogs.

Brooke Forrester’s unbeaten 57 was not enough to get the Bulldogs home as they finished their 45 overs 31 runs short. 

Jeeralang-Boolarra knocked over Saint Vincent’s Greens, with Ben McCormack taking 4/8 while Matt Allan nabbed 3/8. 

Zayne Dowdell’s 44 was the only resistance offered by the Saints. 

Paul Howes hit 36 before a small collapse left the Panthers in a spot of bother at 3/50. 

Allan and Shane Gill got them across the line.

William Dow’s 3/27 was not enough to get the points.Morwell was all out for 118 after Jed Alexander took 4/37.

Alexander and Fred Couper then pushed Mirboo North close after Brendan van Heurck fell early for a duck. 

Brandon Bradshaw then hit an unbeaten 40 as Mirboo North declared at 6/141. 

Jack Hansford was Morwell’s best with 2/16.