Harriers head to the Hills


THE Traralgon Harriers ventured to the hills of Hazelwood North last Thursday to tackle the scenic Clarke’s Road six kilometre course.

More than 40 runners enjoyed balmy summer conditions along mainly bush road tracks, where they benefited from tree cover, but none more than the aptly named Brendan Woodman who was first home on handicap.

The club welcomed three new runners in Venice Inot, Briony Shaw and Brendan Linke who all ran respectable times for their first hit out.

Woodman’s time of 23 minutes and eight seconds was followed by Roger Maximiw in 27.19 and Rob Embelton in 29.30. The females were led by Brooke Mills in 34.13, Hillary Meyer in 28.36 and Karen Graham in 27.43 in the handicap standings.

Woodman was also the fastest male overall followed by Darrel Cross in 24.43 and the consistent Biasi Silvestro in 26.12.

Quickest of the ladies was Briony Shaw in 24.03 followed by Karen Graham in 27.43, and Molly Irvine (28.20).Tonight’s run is the 5km Glenview Racecourse run starting on McNairn Road Traralgon, with handicaps starting from 6pm.

The weekly runs are the perfect lead in for the Harriers 16th annual Community Fun Run and Walk which is just around the corner on 2 March in Kay Street, Traralgon.

Funds raised at the popular event go to support Gippsland Rotary Centenary House.

All entries received by 26 February go into a draw to win an Ipad Mini among a range of prizes.

Information and entry forms can be found on the Harriers website at www.traralgonharriers.org.au

The Harriers welcome runners of all abilities to any event or weekly run.

For more information phone club president Todd Houghton on

0429 940 029.

Handicap results: B Woodman 23.08, B Mills 34.13, R Maximiw 27.19, R Embelton 29.30, H Meyer 28.36, M Abbott 28.37, K Graham 27.43, B Shaw 24.03, G Fox 28.06, J Meyer 2.06, S Elsdon 29.07, K Lancaster 30.09, K Mayer 24.12, R Donaldson 41.13, M Irvine 28.20, M Sawyer 32.55, B Linke 39.02, R Comber 27.03, D Cross 24.43, S McLeod 26.23, O Notting 29.58, B Bickett 36.00, G Crawford 27.32, A Timmer-Arends 29.27, P Sanders 29.28, P Mayer 30.28, W Shields 27.02, M Walker 30.37, J Irvine 34.38, B Silvestro 26.12, M Lane 43.17, P Grixi 37.26, T Preston 32.31, B Duljas 34.08, M Peek 44.08, M Ellis 40.39, B Higgins 37.28, J Jervis 37.32, A Johnson 38.34, K Burns 40.01, E Southerland 41.21, L Kenney 34.42.

2km runners: V Inot 31.29, A Orr 31.30, J Howell 35.14.