Traralgon bags bragging rights

TRARALGON and District has won the battle of the Latrobe Valley associations in its Gippsland Cricket League match against Central Gippsland on Sunday.

Central Gippsland captain Rory Hare won the toss at Peter Siddle Oval and decided to send his opponents in.

Traralgon and District openers Matt Dyke (17) and Jackson McMahon (22) put on 39 before McMahon was bowled by Jed Alexander.

Alexander soon struck again to have Dyke out caught and before long the TDCA was 3/58.

Alistair Jenkin then set about getting the innings back on track, making 65 before Robert Webber had him out caught with the score at 6/150.

Stuart Jones (33) was the other main contributor with the bat as Traralgon and District was all out for 182 off 49.1 overs.

Alexander (3/26 off 10 overs) and Travis Pickering (3/41 off 9.1 overs) were the leading wicket takers for CGCA, with able support from Tyron Gamage (2/28 off nine overs) and Robert Webber (1/32 off 10 overs).

Central Gippsland put up a spirited fight in response, but ultimately lacked one big score from the top six to really challenge the Traralgon bowlers as they closed out their overs at 9/151.

Adam Mates top scored with 32 with a number of batsmen throughout the order getting starts.

Mark Rawson was a dominant force with the ball, taking 5/30 to deny Central Gippsland any ascendancy.

Rob Wheildon also chipped in, taking 2/26 to help Traralgon secure its second win of the season.