Newborough wins a thriller










THE second round of matches commenced with the fixtures of the first seven rounds reversed.


Round 1 was played in overcast


conditions, the reverse of Round 8 on a warm sunny day.




REIGNING premier Newborough


welcomed Traralgon RSL and were keen to make amends for their early season loss at Traralgon RSL despite missing three players – two skippers Kevin Lovett and Nosha Michaels, along with third Scott Jones.


Alan Grubb and his rink of Josh Kennedy, Tony Knipping and Ryan Marston laid the foundation for a Newborough win with a 37-15 victory over Beau Williamson and his rink of Ian Hartley, Titch Hore and Greg McRonald which was a reverse of round 1 when Williamson had a big win.


Tommy Lodge and his rink of Barry Daley, Rod Lewis and John Backman salvaged a 22-all draw with Ross Sizeland and his team of George Cargill, Ross McKenzie and Terry Hunter with Lodge starting the last end with the score 96-97 in Traralgon RSL’s favour before Lodge was satisfied with three shots on the end and an overall win despite having the opportunity of gaining one more shot and a rink win. Common sense prevailed and Lodge accepted the draw on this rink rather than face the possibility of changing the lead and giving RSL the win.


Morice Gardiner and his RSL rink of Paul Mattters, Dave Morley and Max Aumann won 31-20 over Neale Houston and his rink of Brian Carpenter, Michael Weatherall and Craig Thornton.


The other winning Traralgon RSL rink was Alan Kanavan and his team of Dale Wilson, Peter Barnes and Kevin Durwood who defeated George Lambos and his rink of Bob Goldie, John Arnold and Jo-Anne Michaels 29-20.


Newborough 13-99 defeated Traralgon RSL 5-97


Traralgon welcomed Moe where Vin McIlwain and his rink of Shane Chapman, Abe Roeder and Chris Ward won 36-18 over Steve Pallot and his rink of Ian Caines, Dave Mander and Michael Smogavec.


Matt Ferrari and his team of Kirsty Van den Hoff, Kevin Enguell and Ian Kirkup won 27-15 over Sandy Caines and his rink of Paul Louis Read, Bob Rennie and Barry Hawkett.


James Scullin and his rink of Ron Sherlock, Bill Kirby and Pat Trewin had a 27-14 win over Stuart Caines and his rink of Les Brown, Jan Rudy and Ted Kuklinsky.


The lone winning rink for Moe was Jayde Leech and his team of Lachlan Sim, Greg King and Banger Harvey who defeated Phil Mustoe and his rink of Chris Thomas, Ian Hilsley and Maurie Sutcliffe 29-24.


Traralgon 16-114 defeated Moe 2-76


Drouin welcomed Trafalgar with the home team looking to turn around the big defeat it suffered in Round 1.


In a very tight match fortune favoured the visitors recording a one shot victory with Ian Miles and his rink of Heather Taylor, Peter Rosenboom and Tim Anderson defeating Mark Atkinson and his rink of David McIlfatrick, Jan Aubrey and John Leighton 24-18. Tim Fraser and his rink of Col Carmichael, Ian Riley and Ken Capper won 32-19 over Sheryl Atkinson and her rink of Graeme Aubrey, Maureen Leighton and Mick Fleming.


For the home team Toby Wallace and his rink of Denise Hamilton, Arthur Moore and Dale Hendrick had a 33-16 win over Darren Kane and his rink of Sean Tatterson, Sue Robinson and Graham Hill. Samantha Atkinson and her rink of Steve Barr, David Tayles and Les Firth defeated Paul Dawson and his rink of Ed Davies, Frank Farrugia and Peter Jonas 24-23 leaving Trafalgar the winner by one shot.


Trafalgar 14-95 defeated Drouin 4-94


Warragul, needing a win to climb the ladder, made short work of Morwell Club. Dave Smith and his rink of John Vickerman, Jim Power and Pat Hammond won 24-17 over Rod Smith with his team of Michael Skinner, Vaughan Reimers and Dave Stevens.


Matt Schreyer and his rink of David Alderman, Paul Simmons and Noel Reichstein won 26-14 over Nobby Noblett and his rink of Leanne Broadbent, Duncan Hanlon and John Leicester.


Andrew Glover and his rink of Des Stephens, Terry Sullivan and Janette Gallasch won 29-17 over Brett Harle and his team of Alan Campbell, Jo Leslie and Tara Harle.


The lone Morwell Club winning rink was Glenn Trembath and his rink of David Patience, David Broadbent and Wayne Arnold who defeated Graeme Davis and his rink of Ken Landman, Bill Clappers and Peter Gallasch 21-20.


Warragul 16-99 defeated Morwell Club 2-69




MORWELL welcomed a Longwarry side eager to upset the only team with seven wins for the season.


Ken Towt lead the challenge for the visitors with his team of Gerard Mitchell, Mark Serong and Hank Metselaar


winning 36-14 over Ernie King and his rink of Jim Turner, Kevin Pigdon and Laurie Melhuish.


Matt Eccles and his rink of Glenn Pask, Bob Proctor and John McCarthy extended the lead with a 26-21 win over Nathan Cook and his team of Danny McKeown, Abbas Mehran and Wayne Bishop.


For the home team David Cook and his rink of Gerry Van Duin, Keith Gadsby and Darren Cullen won 27-17 over Ken White and his team of Elio Megetto, Barry White and Simon Counsel.


Ron Lyfield made it two wins for Morwell with his rink of Bernie Detering, Brian Kingsley and Russell Williams winning 32-18 over Adam Proctor and his rink of Peter Lieshout, Ian Peterson and Jason Lieshout leaving Longwarry the upset winners by three shots, 14-97 to 4-94.


In other matches, Drouin (2) 14-103 defeated Neerim District 4-98, Newborough (2) 14-110 defeated Traralgon RSL (2) 4-95 and Thorpdale 14-82 accounted for Traralgon (2) 4-75.




TRARALGON (3) welcomed Warragul (3) with the home team winning all four rinks in an 18-103 to 0-66 success.


Yinnar travelled to Newborough (3) and recorded a great 14-102 to 4-89 win.


Garfield 14-109 defeated Boolarra 4-94 and Morwell (2) edged out Moe (2) 16-89 to 2-81.




WARRAGUL (3) travelled to Morwell (3) and had a big win over the home team with all four rinks up, prevailing 18-114 to 0-84.


In other matches, Trafalgar (2) 16-96 defeated Yallourn North 2-85, Newborough (4) 16-113 defeated Drouin (3) 2-71 and Traralgon (4) 14-98 accounted for Yarragon 4-85.




MORWELL Club (3) 14-80 had a big win over Traralgon (5) 2-49, Churchill 14-71 defeated Neerim District (2) 2-68, Moe (3) 14-84 scored their first win of the season against Morwell (4) 2-60 and the Traralgon RSL (2) and Garfield (2) match was declared a draw due to COVID resulting in a shortage of players.




Newborough (5) 5-43 drew with Longwarry (2) 5-45, Yallourn North 10-75 defeated Boolarra (2) 0-32, Yinnar/Churchill 8-44 defeated Thorpdale (2) 2-41 and Morwell Club (3) 5-0 drew with Traralgon (6) 5-0, Trafalgar (3) 10-65 defeated Trafalgar (4) 0-31.