Harriers crown their running King and Queen





LAST week’s (December 8) Harriers Thursday night running was at the Joe Carmody Athletics Track in Newborough.

We had a great turnout with a total of 49 runners in cool conditions.

Great running by Pete Cutler saw him take out the men’s 10km in a very impressive 35.26. Next home was Ian Cornthwaite in 38.21. Excellent running by Yani Cornthwaite saw her first lady home in the 10km with 41.59, followed by Liz Kenney (47.08) and Ree Graham (54.23).

Last weekend (December 4), the Harriers ran the annual King and Queen of the mountain challenge – which is a 30km run from Loy Yang to the top of Mount Tassie.

In hot conditions, a hardy contingent took on the full 30km challenge with many more participating as part of a relay team.

An amazing run by Jordan Cowley saw him first to the top and crowned King of the Mountain in two hours 10 minutes 20 seconds. Georgia Calloway was crowned Queen of the Mountain in 4: 39.06.

In the spirit of Christmas, this week’s run is a novelty run followed by the clubs Christmas breakup function.

The club will resume normal night runs on Thursday, January 12.

Harriers contact is www.traralgonharriers.org.au or at the Harriers Facebook page


Thursday, December 8

Men’s Open 10km: Pete Cutler 35.26, Ian Cornthwaite 38.21, Clinton Jolly 41.29*, Steve Renehan 41.43, Daryl Cross 42.18, Geoff Francis 46.45, Ron Verschuur 54.48, Alfie Warner 55.50,

Women’s Open 10km: Yani Cornthwaite 41.59, Liz Kenney 47.08, Ree Graham 54.23.

Men’s C Grade 5km: Paul Rollandin 27.10, Mark Fairbairn 28.00, Paul Smith 28.01, Ian Heafield 48.42, Luke Witham 55.14, Jim Cutler No Time.

Women’s C Grade 5km: Michelle Sawyer 25.42, Susan Poole 27.13, Matilda Lappin 27.22, Mandy Ellis 29.10, Ella Warner 29.59, Kate Cumming 30.05, Belinda Heafield 48.42, Christina Creighton 55.14, Anika Reilly Not Time, Kathy Quinn No Time, Michelle Colwell No Time, Marieka Reilly No Time.

Men’s B Grade 5km: Keith Williamson 22.18, Gary Fox 23.50, Phill Mayer 24.30, Gary Harding 24.35, Johny Roscoe 24.51, Neilson Archibald 24.52, Angelo Gaudiano 25.39, Errol Poole 25.58, James Townsend 45.00.

Women’s B Grade 5km: Kathleen Kent 25.41.07, Alysha Duncan 26.35, Callie Cook 26.42.

Men’s A Grade 5km: Miles Verschuur 18.11, Pete Cutler 18.24, Owen Notting 19.45, Nick Talerico 19.59, Andrew Greenhill 20.27, Chris Van Unen 20.58, Clinton Jolly 21.34, Darrel Cross 21.51.

King of the Mountain results: 2.10.20 Jordan Cowley 1st Open Male, 2.39.35 Zac Beasley 2nd Open Male, 2.41.49 Tom Crosby 3rd Open Male, 2.48.10 Ian Cornthwaite 1st 50+ Male, 2.57.02 Snacks Crew 1st Team, 2.58.40 Fellowship of the TTRG 2nd Team, 3.31.33 Chris Van Uuen, 3.34.02 Jason Odlum, 3.42.24 Glenn Crawford, 3.46.49 No Wazza 3rd Team, 3.56.21 Ann & Callie’s Misfits & Ron, 4.00.59 Geoff Frances 2nd 50+ Male, 4.10.13 Ian Twite 3rd 50+ Male, 4.30.48 Pete Sander, 4.39.06 Georgia Calloway 1st Open Female, 4.39.06 Clinton Jolly, DNF T Squad 18 DNF Chris Frances.

Pounding the pavement: Peter Cutler (in red) and Johny Roscoe smash out great runs on the Joe Carmody Athletics Track.