Wards renamed

Wards renamed

LATROBE CITY council electoral wards have been renamed from the previous historical-figure inspired names.

Latrobe City councillors voted in support of the East, West, Central and South wards at Monday’s council meeting following Victorian Electoral Commission recommendations in March.

Latrobe City Mayor Ed Vermeulen said the proposed ward structure was a significant change for the community and altering the proposed ward names was not necessary.

The VEC electoral recommends council consists of four wards, one four-councillor ward, two two-councillor ward, and one single-councillor ward which will be effective following November elections.

“We have had a number of different names… people are confused enough,” Cr Vermuelen said.

“What we need is something simple and when the vast majority of people want and need a change, then perhaps we can be more imaginative.”

Council fee and charges forum

LATROBE City Council is calling on public submissions to help decide on service fees and charges for the next 12 months.

The draft fees and charges document proposes cost changes for council services for the next financial year and is open for public consultation.

Residents are invited to attend council’s community forum on Wednesday to voice their views.

The forum will be held at the Nambur Wariga room, Latrobe City Council corporate headquarters, Morwell from 7pm to 8.30pm.

At the forum, residents will be given the opportunity to hear from Latrobe City Mayor Ed Vermeulen about the council plan and speak one-on-one with councillors about the future of the region.

The consultation period for Latrobe City Fees and Charges 2012/2013 closes 6 June.