Rate reduction rejected

Rate reduction rejected

Latrobe City Council chose not to pursue a rate reduction for the residents of postcode 3840 as compensation for the Hazelwood mine fire, at Monday night’s council meeting.

Councillor Christine Sindt put forward the motion, which called for mayor Sharon Gibson to write to Premier Denis Napthine, requesting the State Government pay the difference if council were to offer a 10 per cent rate reduction to properties within 3840. This would include homes in Morwell, Driffield, Hazelwood, Hazelwood North, Jeeralang, Jeeralang Junction and Maryvale.

Cr Sindt suggested this could be a “gesture of good will” to residents, many who she said were “struggling to pay their rates”.

However, Cr Michael Rossiter said this move would divide the community, as it excluded the residents of Moe and Traralgon. Cr Kellie O’Callaghan added if this request was not supported by the State Government, it could further disenfranchise the community. The majority of councillors did not support the motion.

Sites for air monitoring

Latrobe City Council will work to ensure three new air monitoring stations are placed in appropriate sites across the Latrobe Valley.

Council voted at Monday night’s meeting to request the Environment Protection Authority to work with council to take neighbourhood amenity into consideration when placing the stations.

Councillor Graeme Middlemiss, who moved the motion, said this consultation had not happened in the past, resulting in less than ideal placement.

“All I’m saying is if you’re going to put it in our community, do it properly,” Cr Middlemiss said.

The stations will be located at Andrews Park West, Churchill; Scott Avenue Reserve, Moe and Maryvale Crescent Reserve, Morwell.

Their establishment is part of the Hazelwood Recovery Program and they will join existing sites at Ronald Reserve, Morwell and Hubert Osborne Park, Traralgon.