Brock steady at Classic

Clayton pair Jennifer Bainbridge and Lois Brock held their nerve to win the Latrobe City Classic Pairs invitational women’s lawn bowls tournament at Moe last weekend.

It was a nail-biting end to two days of intense competition as three teams were sitting on five wins, one on four wins and three on three wins and a draw ahead of the final round.

Local pair Jo Leslie (Yinnar) and Alison Caldwell (Traralgon) were nudged out of first place by Bainbridge and Brock by a small difference of five shots up.

Closely following were last year’s winners Jaye Allen-Dayle (Mulgrave) and Pam Wintrup (Wonthaggi).

Players commented favourably on the organisation and friendliness of the annual event.

Final results

1st Jennifer Bainbridge, Lois Brock (Clayton); 2nd Jo Leslie (Yinnar), Alison Caldwell (Traralgon); 3rd Jaye Allen-Dayle (Mulgrave), Pam Wintrup (Wonthaggi);

4th Ann Green, Sue O’Connell (Wonthaggi).

Best Performed Each Game

Game 1 – Faye Clarke, Wendy Campbell (Bairnsdale). Game 2 – Wendy Scott, Dettie Wylie (Traralgon). Game 3 – Carol Hughes, Anne Tschiderer (Inverloch). Game 4 – Marilyn Forrest (San Remo), Rosa James (Leongatha). Game 5 – Val Rodgers (Moe), Annette Ralls (Morwell Club). Game 6 Vikki Lawrence, Tricia Cole (Moe).