CGCA lower grades update

Rawson flew back into the top four on the back of a key win over Thorpdale.

Their move up the ladder also came expense of Moe, who suffered defeat at the hands of Latrobe.

Batting first the visitors scored 148, with captain Shannon Pickering top-scoring a handy 38, followed by Trent Gibson with 35 and Harley O’Connell on 22.

Surprisingly for such a competitive score these were the only double-figure scores of the innings, although the 16 extras bowled by the Kookabburras were a factor as well.

Veteran swing bowler Rod Fleming took 3/28 while Nathan Lee and Brian Hammond both picked up 2/27. 

Rawson were never really at risk in the chase and secured the win thanks to Lee (68) and Ben Rotheram (51).

Trent Gibson picked up three wickets for Thorpdale but lacked support from the rest of the attack.

Previously undefeated Morwell suffered a shock defeat to sixth-placed Willow Grove, who are well out of finals contention.

Batting first Morwell felt the absence of regular openers Sam Mooney and Roger Henry, the former unavailable and the latter promoted, as they slumped to 97 all out.

Things started off well for the Tigers as they reached 44 without loss before Wolves captain Nathan Perkins brought himself on and immediately pinned Gavin Bailey in his crease for 26.

From 0/44 the Tigers lost 10/53 as Alex Pearman bowled well to pick up 3/26 but it was Harrison Binstead that was the true revelation.

With just one wicket to his name for the season, the mystery bowler ripped through the Tigers’ batting card with an incredible 5/21. 

Pearman (26) and Adam James (36) then completed the heist of the season as the Wolves recorded a truly memorable seven-wicket victory.

A plucky Trafalgar overhauled Jeeralang Boolarra’s 7/170 thanks to a dashing 74 from Christian Burgess.

Even contributions from the Panthers’ batting card with Nathan Spark, Toby Spark and Shane Gill all chipping in before Daniel McKay (2/27) and Dylan Bagnall (2/27) looked to have the Ships marooned at 5/57.

Enter Burgess who had Brett Cameron (31) as his trusty companion as the pair took the Ships to within inches of victory before a late wobble gave the Panthers a sniff.

Trafalgar snuck past the target three wickets down to complete a memorable win for the visitors. 

Moe were lucky enough to call on the services of premier cricket second division batsman Joel Mitchell for their must-win encounter with Latrobe, although the Sharks were able to call on experienced players themselves due to the first-grade bye.

Club coach John Kus had Mitchell caught in the gully before Paul Kane (31) and Jason Shearing (19) dug in against former Moe firebrand Chris Johnson.

But it was second grade regulars Jon Hayes (4/22) and Anubhav Meenakshi (3/10) who did the damage, winding up Moe’s innings for 115 before Bradley Aitken (71) and Johnson (62) shared a 127 run partnership to lift the Sharks into third place on the ladder.

Mirboo North racked up a convincing 8/224 against Newborough thanks in part to skipper Peter Grima’s belligerent 72 not out.

David Reynolds (2/46) and Daniel Farmer (2/50) battled hard for the Bulldogs but the other bowlers lacked the same level of control. 

In the response only Mark Whitney stood up for the Bulldogs with 27, as they were blown apart by opening bowler Tom Gordon, all out for 90 in less than 30 overs.

Mirboo North 4/154 (C Anders 92) def Latrobe 137 (SP Vallance 31, D Calder 3/36)

Jeeralang-Boolarra Blue 81 (CP Gratton 42*, T Brown 4/22) def by Yallourn North 3/102 (T Brown 51*, RD Laukens 3/41)

Newborough 63 (A Cooper 24, G Helmuth 3/10, S Gniel 3/14) def by Morwell 1/87 (S Gniel 51*)

St Vincents 3/117 (M Gifford 60, DM Jones 2/31) def Moe 108 (AI Young 31, D Smith 5/7)