Celebrating 20 powerful years

GIPPSLAND Power will celebrate its 20th year in the TAC Cup competition with a ball to be held at Lardner Park, near Warragul, on 28 July.

The highlight of the night will be the announcement of its All-Star team.

Key club officials who have been at the club since its inception have selected the All-Star team after nominating four players for each of the positions recognised.

Since its initial season in 1993, more than 80 players have been recruited by Australian Football League clubs and there are currently 30 on club lists.

Three of these former Power players, Leigh Brown, Rob Murphy and David “Bomber” Wocjinski have played more than 200 games at senior level while 13 players have been members of premiership sides.

As well as the achievement at elite levels, many Power players have returned to their football roots across Gippsland-based competitions.

The club has already received acceptances from past players including Nathan Vardy, Wocjinski, Jason Winderlich, Dyson Heppell, Jarryd Roughead, Xavier Ellis, Troy Makepeace, Greg Tivendale and Steven Hazelman.

Former coaches Paul Hudson and Aussie Jones are attending while AFL legend, Peter Hudson, who was involved with Paul in season 2005 and 2006, will also attend.

All current squad members will attend.

Current top age player Josh Cashman and his band, the Right Hand Men, will provide music for the evening.

The night will be hosted by former AFL star and current media performer, Daniel Harford.

Harford began his elite football career at the Northern Knights as did current Power coach Nick Stevens.

He was a member of two Knights premiership teams and was selected as captain of Victoria in the national championships.

As a result of his performances in the nationals, Harford won the Larke Medal for the best player in the carnival.

He was recruited to Hawthorn in 1995 where he played 153 games and was so well regarded by the Hawks he was given the elite number five by the club.

This is the most prestigious number for Hawthorn as it was worn by club stalwart and champion Peter Crimmins.

During his time at the Hawks he won selection in the 1997 and 2000 Victorian teams.

In 2004 Harford transferred to Carlton where he played a further nine games.

He now works with SEN radio.

Those wishing to attend the ball should phone the club on 5134 8733 to pre-purchase tickets.