Kavadias king of the ring


FISTS and feet were flying at the Grey Street school hall on Saturday when Traralgon Kyokushin Karate hosted its second annual ‘one match’ tournament.

Three of five Traralgon competitors registered victories throughout the 12-fight card, which pitted 24 matched opponents against each other in two rounds of full contact martial arts.

Elias Kavadias continued his rich vein of form, which earned a runner up finish in last year’s Australian Kyokushin National Championships open black belt division, by defeating experienced Griffith opponent Steve McLean in a unanimous decision.

Kavadias was also a highlight on last year’s inaugural card, when he lost a furious fight to clubmate Terry English.

Traralgon’s other victors were Adam May over Charminda Banbara from Portland, and Phoebe Stockdale who bested Benalla’s Chloe Woolcock.

Sherriden Trevena was unlucky to lose a close bout with Alana Jeffrey in two one-and-a-half minute rounds, but earned praise from Traralgon head instructor David Nabulsi.

“Although Sherriden did not get the judges’ decision it was very close and she should be very happy with her efforts,” he said.

Fighters from novices through to experts took part, but the ‘one match’ format meant matchups were determined by ability, age, weight and experience.

For more information about Traralgon Kyokushin Karate visit www.tbk.com.au

Traralgon one match RESULTS

Fight 1 (Colts, 2 x 1.5min)

Jacqui Hamblin (Winchelsea Dojo) lt Aimee Morris (Albury Dojo).

Fight 2 (2 x 1.5min)

Michael Cirillo (Griffith Dojo) d Alex Vullings (Narre Warren Dojo).

Fight 3 (Colts 2 x 1.5min)

Alanah Jeffrey (Griffith Dojo) d Sherriden Trevena (Traralgon Dojo).

Fight 4 (2 x 2min)

Chloe Woolcock (Benalla Dojo) lt Phoebe Stockdale (Traralgon Dojo).

Fight 5 (2 x 2min)

Charminda Banbara (Portland Dojo) lt Adam May (Traralgon Dojo).

Fight 6 (2 x 2min)

Ali Feyzi (Waterworld Dojo) lt Carlos Luppi (Griffith Dojo).

Fight 7 (2 x 2min)

John Kook (Coleanbally Dojo) d Tony Ortega (Corio Dojo).

Fight 8 (2 x 2min)

Jesse Shields (Ocean Grove Dojo) d Paul Ambrose (Traralgon Dojo).

Fight 9 (2 x 2min)

Steve McLean (Griffith Dojo) lt Elias Kavadias (Traralgon Dojo).

Fight 10 (2 x 2min)

Kyuss Brooker (Ballarat Dojo) d Robbie Kerrison (Moe Shim-Bu-Kai).

Fight 11 (2 x 2min)

Jordan Wallis (Ballarat Dojo) d Hojat Arvan (Water World Dojo).

Fight 12 (2 x 2min)

Troy Win (Ocean Grove Dojo) lt Nick Taprell (Griffith Dojo).