Gippsland hammers the competition


Gippsland put the hammer down last week to pull off a one-point victory in the Victorian Country Regional Croquet Championships.

Played across four venues in Traralgon and Morwell over as many days, Gippsland’s gross points score of 558 saw it hold off runner-up Goulburn Valley by the slimmest possible margin in the overall stakes.

Gippsland Croquet Association president Iris Williams said the victory was a huge boon for the region.

“This win is a great achievement for Gippsland to win the championships; congratulations to the team who did very well,” Williams said.

“The outcome could not have been better, (it’s) good for Gippsland and good for croquet.”

In addition to winning the overall championship, section two was taken out by Traralgon Croquet Club member, Matt Mackay.

“This caps off an ongoing successful involvement for Matt with the regionals,” Williams said.

“In the past, Matt has also won in section three and four.”

The champion Gippsland team was comprised of Judy Wembridge from Bairnsdale in section one, Mackay in section two, Margaret Fraser of Traralgon in section three and Phillip Island’s Pauleen Leditschke in section four.

Gary Prescott from Bairnsdale, who played for Goulburn Valley, received the player with most potential award.

Traralgon Croquet Club president and organising committee convener Simon Trebilock said it was pleasing to see former clubmate Janelle Dunn win the division four individual title.

“It was great to see Janelle do so well,” he said.

“Janelle started playing croquet with the Traralgon Croquet Club and has only recently moved to the South West region.”

Latrobe City Mayor Sharon Gibson assisted with the trophy presentations and congratulated all participants, players, referees, officials and helpers on a successful tournament.

The tournament was hosted by Traralgon Bowls Club, Traralgon RSL Bowls Club, Morwell Croquet Club and Traralgon Croquet Club.

A total of 144 singles matches were played throughout the annual tournament, which is shared between the nine participating regions.


Section 1

Winner Ken Bald Wimmera 7 Wins, 4 Triple Peels + 126. Runner-up Ian Bassett Goulburn Valley 7 Wins, 2 Triple Peels + 81. 3rd Place Anne Quinn North Eastern 6 Wins, + 44. 4th Place Patricia Devlin Northern 5 Wins, 1 Triple Peel + 33.

Section 2 Winner Matt Mackay Gippsland 7 wins + 81. Runner-up Eric O’Donnell Ballarat 5 Wins + 40. 3rd Place Ian Kelson South Western 5 wins + 3.

Section 3

Winner Jim Maynard Goulburn Valley 6 Wins +59. Runner-up Ian McKee Ballarat 6 Wins +21. 3rd Place Margaret Fraser Gippsland 5 Wins +55.

Section 4

Winner Janelle Dunn South West 6 wins +60. Runner-up Patricia Hester North Eastern 6 Wins +27. 3rd place Marcia Elliott North Eastern 6 wins +27.

Overall Winner

Gippsland 558 Gross. Second Goulburn Valley 557 Gross. Third Wimmera 551 Gross. Fourth North Eastern 532 Gross. Fifth Geelong 478 Gross. Sixth Ballarat 460 Gross. Seventh Murray Valley 449 Gross. Eighth South Western 418 Gross. Ninth Northern District 383 Gross. Total Points / Hoops Made During 3 Days Of Championships 4396.