Finals rivals share Sel Burley medal

RELATED COVERAGE: NGFNL best and fairest gallery

Heyfield midfielder Josh Stubbe and Churchill’s engine room specialist Travis Brighton tied for the senior North Gippsland Football Netball League best and fairest award.

Stubbe and Brighton polled 25 votes in all to jointly claim the Sel Burley medal, finishing six votes clear of Woodside’s Ryan Foat.

Close behind Foat was last year’s joint winner, Rosedale’s Rohan Diamond, who drew level on 17 votes with brother Adam, followed by Churchill midfielder Chris Williams on 15 votes.

A multiple Gippsland League premiership player, Stubbe has been instrumental this season in the Kangaroos’ tilt at the title.

His athleticism in packs and around the ball has been an impetus in providing drive into the Kangaroos’ forward structure, and he’s also handy in front of goals.

Churchill midfielder Brighton has been a model of consistency for the Cougars, a workhorse renowned for being closely checked but breaking away through drive and determination.

Stubbe, Brighton and Yarram coach Griffin Underwood were the front runners throughout the count, with Underwood, who polled 25 votes to create a three-way tie, ineligible due to suspension. Brighton started the count well but hit his straps in the second half of the season to poll four best on ground performances in rounds 12, 13, 16 and 17.

Collecting votes in 10 of a possible 18 rounds, Stubbe polled three votes in four matches to make a move on Brighton, hotly followed by team mate Jack Woodland, who was ineligible, and Foat who polled best on ground performances in round 18 and 19.

Woodside’s Justin Staley claimed the senior leading goal kicker award, with reserves player Peter Johnson capping off a successful season with Churchill, kicking 74 goals to claim the title.

In A grade netball Rosedale’s Bron Tebb claimed her third league best and fairest honour in four seasons.

Tebb’s consistent season saw the defender poll four votes clear of clear of runner-up Heyfield’s Emma Wojcinski in a nail biting count.

North Gippsland Football Netball League Senior team of the year

Back pocket Ben Truin (Glengarry)

Full-back Scott Anderson (Heyfield)

Back pocket Guy Sinclair (TTU)

Half-back flank Allan Chandler (Churchill)

Centre half-back Jed Hickey (Rosedale)

Half-back flank Rohan Diamond (Rosedale)

Wing Jack Woodland (Heyfield)

Centre Josh Stubbe (Heyfield)

Wing Chris Williams (Churchill)

Half-forward flank Mitch Bennett (Sale City)

Centre half-forward Josh King (Glengarry)

Half-forward flank Dale Fleming (Rosedale)

Forward pocket Jesse Bedggood (Heyfield)

Full-forward Justin Staley (Woodside)

Forward pocket Corbin Sutherland (Yarram)

Rucks Ryan Foat (Woodside), Travis Brighton (Churchill), Griffin Underwood (Yarram)

Interchange Kodie Woodland (Heyfield), Brad Knowles (Churchill), Brad Scott (Rosedale), Adam Diamond (Rosedale)

Captain Josh King (Glengarry) Vice Captain: Coach: Jed Hickey (Rosedale)

Coach Adrian Cox and Damien Birss (Heyfield)