New chair for AFL Gippsland

TRARALGON’S Brian Quigley has been appointed chair of the AFL Gippsland Commission.

Quigley replaced inaugural chair Angus Hume at a special commission meeting in Morwell, held immediately after the AFL Gippsland annual general meeting.

Hume announced his intention to step down from the position last month due to increased work commitments and his resignation was made official at the AGM.

Quigley, a former player with Yinnar and Traralgon football clubs and Maroons and Latrobe Valley Football League president, was elected unopposed.

He has also served as chair of the Latrobe Valley Racing Club.

Hume’s position on the seven-person board remains vacant, with AFL Victoria tasked with appointing his replacement.