Brincat blasts Bombers away



Morwell v Yallourn North

Morwell enjoyed a comprehensive victory over Yallourn North, posting 304 in response to the visitor’s 187 in the last EnergyAustralia Cup match before the break.

Even contributions from Craig Giddens (39) and Mark Cukier (36) backed up the major run scorers Jesse Giardina (60) and Brendan Brincat (81).

Yallourn North opened with the spin of Jeremy Butler but the left-armer was unable to extract any help from the surface, sending down 15 overs for a return of 1/64.

The much-vaunted pace quartet of Lucas Fry, Rowan Kelly, Glenn Sheekey and Brandon Bailey failed to fire before skipper Pat Spiteri took up the mantle, floating up 12.4 overs to claim 4/45. The Tigers were rarely in trouble although at 6/147 the match could easily have gone either way.

The Bombers struggled to build up periods of sustained pressure, and the Tigers cashed in on some loose bowling to help themselves to a confidence-boosting win.

Moe v Latrobe

LATROBE fell six runs short chasing Moe’s 193, in a pressure pursuit after losing the openers early.

Matt Brewer (33) and Kaushik Aphale (23) repaired some of the damage, but a middle order collapse had the visitors staring down the barrel at 5/107 with their main men back in the sheds. Jamie Brierley (39) and Daniel Siddle (32) made a fist of it but when Brierley ran out Siddle and then holed out the Lions sniffed a chance.

Andrew Philip brought himself back on to clean up the tail with 3/42, and bowled the home side to an unlikely victory.

Luke Mulqueen claimed 3/41 and Nick Clarke picked up 2/32 for the Lions.

Mirboo North v Thorpdale

MIRBOO North was unable to force the outright after a determined batting performance by Thorpdale saw the Blues close their second innings at 6/169.

The Blues were rolled for 126 in their first dig, Harvey Poole’s 25 the best effort by any batsman, as Pete Grima (4/20) and Steve Rogers (3/18) ran through the inexperienced lineup.

Mirboo North captain Robert

Phoenix enforced the follow-on, but was met with much sterner resistance the second time around as Kayne O’Connell batted through the innings to finish on 51.

O’Connell was helped along the way by Shannon Pickering, who made 53.

Liam Smith was the Tigers’ best in the second innings with 2/36.

Trafalgar v Newborough Bulldogs

TRAFALGAR wrapped up a straightforward outright win against Newborough, declaring at 4/210 thanks to captain Rhys Holdsworth (53*), Will Cheatley (36*) and James Blaser (79).

The hapless Bulldogs were flattened for 75 in their second innings when father and son duo Leigh Colgrave (17) and Royce Colgrave (21) were the only bats to post double figures.

Holdsworth (3/18), Nathan Simpson (2/6) and Jackson Noonan (2/2) mopped up the hapless tail.

Second Grade

Mirboo North v Jeeralang-Boolarra

JEERALANG-BOOLARRA had a tight win over Mirboo North with Craig Blackberry’s 82 the only decent score in an innings of 148.

Dermott Leys was unable to add to his 465 runs before Christmas, dismissed for a duck while his captain Stan Urbanic found the going a lot tougher as well.

Connor Williams picked up 3/23 and Dave Woodall 2/19.

Woodall then struck 38 but lacked support from his teammates – Riley Oddy’s 27 the only other major contribution.

Peter Gilpin (4/24) did the bulk of the damage as the Panthers put down the Tigers for 131 to get out of trouble.

Rawson v Trafalgar

TRAFALGAR dismissed Rawson for 123 despite a 50 from Ben Rotheram as David Bremner tore the batting card apart with 5/15.

With a number of experienced and talented players the Ships hit a massive snag at 9/110, relying on tailenders Brett Cameron and Mathew Lowe to get them home.

Rotheram (3/33) and James Fleming (3/41) bowled well and were unlucky to miss out on a famous victory.

Yallourn North v Morwell

MORWELL posted 165 against Yallourn North, with plenty of bats throwing away starts as only Rob Semmler (32) broke past 20.

Nathan Donnet picked up 3/16 to restrict the Tigers.

The Bombers were rolled for 67 in reply.

Legspinner Dean White bamboozled the opposition bats to finish with 5/19.

Moe v Latrobe

LATROBE was humbled for 87 by Moe.

Kris Wells’ 27 was the only decent contribution in a mediocre batting performance.

Thomas Wilson, Owen Kelly and John James all picked up three wickets each to put down the Sharks.

Paul Cake (25), James (25*) and Jagbir Singh (43*) then made sure of the points.

TRAFALGAR all-rounder Rhys Holdsworth has been named in the 13 man Victoria Country squad for the 2015 Australian Country Cricket Championships in Bendigo.

The Ships skipper leads the Central Gippsland Cricket Association run scorers list in 2014/15 with 372 at 46.50 and has 16 wickets at 13.13.

The tournament will consist of two two-day matches and three one-day fixtures.

Games will be played in Bendigo at Queen Elizabeth Oval, Huntly, Strathfieldsaye, Wade Street, White Hills and Dower Park.

The Australian Country Cricket Championships will be staged from January 5 to 12.

Vic Country squad

Ben Boyd (35) Allansford

Luke Carter (31) Strathmerton

Rhys Holdsworth (24) Trafalgar

Lyle House (29) Mt Eliza

Brendan Huf (28) St Andrews

Shaun Knott (25) Eaglehawk

Tyler Larkin (19) Central Park St Brendan’s

James McNeil (24) East Albury

Heath Pyke (C) (29) Wendouree

Richard Tibbett (25) Eaglehawk

Adam Ward (22) Huntly Nth Epsom

Bobby Wilson (28) Moorooduc

Mitchell Winter-Irving (23) White Hills