State finalists determined

THE Strzelecki Region State lawn bowls finals were held at Leongatha Bowls Club on Sunday, featuring the cream of west and south Gippsland’s bowlers.

Sunday’s winners will continue to the final 16 in the state at the Bowls Victoria State Championships to be held in Bendigo from 18 to 24 April.

At the end of the day South Gippsland had won five events to West Gippsland’s four.

The rivalry will continue at Meeniyan this Sunday when the state singles is contested.

The Strzelecki Region encompasses west and south Gippsland and 34 clubs in total.


FOURS: Denise Hamilton, Maureen Leighton, Pauline Appleyard, Margaret Ratcliffe (Drouin) def by Helen Twite, Heather Marshall, Bev Martin, Wilma Coleman (Tarwin Lower) 11-19

TRIPLES: Margaret Gibbins, Loraine Osler, Shirley McKenzie (Traralgon RSL) def by Robyn Dennis, Joy Brown, Marilyn Forrest (San Remo) 9-22

CHAMPION SINGLES: Pat Fraser-Aurisch (Neerim District) def Jenny Miller (Loch) 25-15.

MIXED PAIRS: Dennis Throup, Denise Hamilton (Drouin) def Gary Ingley, Lena Harfield (Korumburra) 21-8

PAIRS: Pat Fraser-Aurisch, Karen Sheers (Neerim District) def by Robyn Dennis, Joy Brown (San Remo) 17-18


CHAMPION SINGLES: D.Ashby (Drouin) def by Peter Forest (Phillip Island) 23-25

STATE FOURS: Chris Le Lievre, Scott Cottrell, Vin McIlwain, Will McIlwain (Traralgon) def by – Glenn Scott, Mick Coram, Ross Gabb, Joe Pinneri (Inverloch) 11-16

STATE TRIPLES: Ian Kirkup, Michael Yacoub, Ian Hilsley (Traralgon) def Mick Bowman, Graeme Pope, Dave Roberts (Tarwin Lower/Inverloch) 14-12

STATE PAIRS: Chris Le Lievre, Scott Cottrell (Traralgon) def Glenn Scott, Charlie Buccilli (Inverloch) 25-16