Graham shines again at league North Gippsland League vote count


TRARALGON Tyers United midfielder Brian Graham claimed his third North Gippsland Football Netball League best and fairest in four seasons, to surpass his father Brian Graham Senior, a two-time winner of the award.

Graham polled 34 votes in total to claim the Sel Burley medal, finishing six clear of Rosedale captain Dale Fleming.

Close behind Fleming was Yarram’s Grif Underwood, who was ineligible for the award, with last year’s joint winner Heyfield’s Josh Stubbe and Churchill midfielder Chris Williams rounding out the top four on 18 votes.

Running forward in most matches to score, Graham finished the season on 48 goals.

Graham polled three votes in five matches in the second half of the season with a stellar month between rounds 10 and 14 seeing him break away on the leaderboard.

Collecting five best on grounds votes, Sale City’s Brad McKay perhaps stole the votes from teammate David Piasente, who many had tipped would poll well.

McKay charged up the leaderboard to finish level with Piasente on 16 votes, one behind Cowwarr’s Pat Tainsh in fifth place.

TTU’s Stephen Hawking claimed the senior leading goal kicker award, with reserves player Justin Rogers capping off a successful season with Churchill kicking 78 goals to claim the title.

In the reserves Heyfield’s Wayne Knight claimed the honour ahead of last year’s winner, Sale City’s Daniel Bird.

Knight polled 26 votes to finish three ahead of Bird.

Grand finalist Glengarry’s Jake Read claimed the thirds best and fairest award with 31 votes to hold off Woodside’s Cameron Whiteoak on 28.