Bulldogs’ roar rattles Thorpdale

Thorpdale struggled against Newborough after being sent in to bat. James Durkin top-scored with 22 but the rest of the side were blown away by Ben Doran who took 5/15.

Defending just 59 runs, Matt Coutts (51) and Troy Oakley (50) shut Thorpdale out of the game and sealed the points for the visitors.

Tim Loft bowled well for the Blues and nabbed 3/16.

Jeeralang-Boolarra vs Willow Grove

Willow Grove secured their first win after returning to second grade cricket in a nail biter against Jeeralang-Boolarra.

The Wolves limped to 101 all out with Bradley King (4/17) and Tim Laaks (4/22) doing the damage.

Brody Hams did his best to anchor the innings with 37, but the rest of the order found runs hard to come by.

Willow Grove hit back with the ball, with Josh Coombs the destroyer – taking 5/20 as the home side wound up nine runs short.

Moe vs Rawson

It was another close game between Moe and Rawson holding on for a thrilling one run victory.

Defending 177 thanks to Chad Williamson (69) and Ben Rotheram (41), Rawson had Moe on the ropes at 7/103.

Teenage sensation Trent Baldi struck a superb 74 but the tail had too much left to do and wound up one run behind the Kookaburras.

Latrobe vs Trafalgar

Latrobe secured a comfortable win against Trafalgar as the Ships batted out their overs for just 66 runs.

Iain Edgar ripping the heart out of Trafalgar’s middle order with 6/16.

Sharks opener Brad Aitken put the result beyond doubt with a well-composed 53 not out.

Mirboo North v Morwell

Defending premiers Mirboo North were given a reality check by Morwell after stumbling to a 42 run loss.

Glenn Gniel top-scored with 32 in Morwell’s innings of 132 as Steve Rogers and Connor Williams each took three wickets.

Rogers was the only player to show resolve with the bat with 34 as Mirboo North collapsed to 90 all out.

Morwell’s Luke Buurman and Rob Semmler each took three wickets.


Morwell vs Yallourn North

Morwell and Yallourn North could not be separated as they played out a tie at the Tiger’s Keegan Street ground on Saturday.

Glenn Helmuth’s 67 helped the home side to 7/167, with Mark Smith providing able support with an unbeaten 42.

Adam Chester got the Bombers off to a great start with 54 before Brendan Rooney’s 46 took the visitors close. Andrew Kays’ 4/17 dragged the Tigers back into the contest and Yallourn North could only scrape through for a tie in the final over.

Newborough vs Jeeralang-Boolarra Gold

Jeeralang Boolarra has cruised to an easy victory in their away match against Newborough Bulldogs on Saturday.

All out for 88, the Bulldogs were spared serious blushes after knocks from John Parker (25 not out) and Brett Fernandez (25) pushed the score towards 100.

Bradley Jones took 4/17 to put Panthers Gold in pole position.

Angus Parker (40) and Dale Bagnall (48) then guided Jeeralang Boolarra Gold past the target with ease.

Moe vs Mirboo North

Moe has defeated Mirboo North after a captain’s knock of 66 from skipper Mark Micallef.

Moe scored 7/160 with Ben Maslen chipping in with 33.

James Greenwood was the stand-out for the Tigers, snagging 4/12.

Mirboo North started well with Fred Couper (39) steady at the top but regular wickets meant that the run rate slowed and eventually fell 16 runs short.

St Vincent’s vs Latrobe

Latrobe secured a tense one-wicket away victory over St Vincent’s Morwell’s Crinigan Road Reserve as the home side’s 113 was not enough.

The Sharks’ Jody Cappy (3/19) kept the Saints to an obtainable score but at 9/87 the Sharks looked dead and buried.

A brisk partnership between Steven Hanning (51 not out) and number 11 Marc Metcalfe (8) got Latrobe home for a vital win.