Sale-Maffra cruise to win over Warragul

Sale-Maffra has started the defence of their 2015-16 Gippsland Cricket League title with a win against Warragul.

The game had to be transferred to a hard wicket at Garfield after persistent rain rendered all turf venues unplayable.

Sale-Maffra won the toss and invited the home side to bat.

Warragul had 23 on the board when captain Fraser Duncan was run out by Isaac Love, who was making his senior GCL debut.

The next wicket fell for the addition of just one run when Stuart Anderson had Jason Croft trapped LBW for 11.

A further run was added before Damon Healy lost his wicket, leaving the scoreboard on 3/25.

Rhys Holdcroft (61) and Trevor Gardiner (43) steadied the ship, putting on 76 for the fourth wicket.

Gardiner was out just after the team score had ticked over the hundred mark.

James Vella (11) was the only other batsman to reach double figures, the last five only contributed 19 runs before the close.

Warragul finished at 9/166.

Dylan Bolton, back in Sale-Maffra colours after a year with Bairnsdale, took 3/32.

Ben Jones also picked up 2/34 while Love and Anderson finished with one wicket each.

In response, Sale-Maffra got the runs four down with three overs to spare.

Debutant Tim Dessent made 10 before he was the first wicket down when the score was 22.

Veteran Brett Lanigan hung around to score 33 and Brad Scott, batting at three, chimed in with 36.

Josh Davis and Jack Tatterson both got into the teens while the third Sale-Maffra first gamer, Alex Mellor, ended up 35 not out.

Croft was the only multiple wicket taker with 2 for 26.

Leongatha’s match against Central Gippsland also had to be transferred to a hard wicket.

Batting first Central Gippsland were dismissed for 191.

Newly appointed Leongatha captain James Sherrin picked up 3/38, while Jack Mason and Alan Jenkins both picked up two wickets.

Leongatha won, scoring 6/192 with nine overs to spare.

Leongatha’s stars were Alex Rose (70) and Damian Symmons (44).

James Markland also chimed in with 26.

Travis Picking picked up three wickets for Central Gippsland.

The final match was between Traralgon and Bairnsdale. Traralgon batted first and scored 238. Bairnsdale fell 50 short in the response (no individual statistics input for this games as of 11:40PM, the 50 run margin is also a players “best guess” as the holder of the scorebook could not be ascertained.).

The only women’s game played was between Bairnsdale and Sale-Maffra at Bairnsdale.

The home team batted first and scored 9/134 which proved to be enough as Sale-Maffra were dismissed for 117.

Cara Williams top scored for Bairnsdale with 25 while Paula O’Neill and Zoe Quinsey-Munro each scored 19.

Meika King had a good day in the field, returning 4/8 off five overs as well as affecting a run out.

Megen Wrigglesworth also picked up two wickets.

In Sale-Maffra’s innings Teagan Fairbrother (35) was the stand out.

Lilly Hardgreaves (15) was the only other batswoman to reach double figures while Tina Moon with three scalps and Kayla Hayles with two were Bairnsdale’s multiple wicket takers.

Warragul forfeited to hand Morwell the points and Traralgon’s long awaited re-entry into Women’s GCL will have to wait another fortnight after Leongatha forfeited too.

Leongatha was all out for 240 to defeat Traralgon, which made just 82.

Leongatha’s Ben Perry scored 126, his best score in green and gold and third representative century.

Koby Brann (39) was the only other batsman to pass 20.

Elijah Cousins picked up 4 for 22 for Leongatha during Traralgon’s innings.

In the second match Warragul (all out for 67) were outclassed by Sale-Maffra who scored 8/206.

Warragul opener Joel Batson (22) was the only batsman to make double figures.

Lachlan Carman picked up 4/23 and Connor Hughes picked up three wickets for Sale-Maffra.

Charlie Morrison scored a half century for Sale-Maffra while Tom Anderson and Hughes both got to thirty.

Wil Cole and Sean Masterson picked up two wickets each for Warragul.

Bairnsdale and Central Gippsland will play their match for this round on 6 November.

Bairnsdale 99 (Brodie Matthews 23, Isaac Brown 2/7, Tom Webster 2/14, Ethan Foley 2/25) were defeated by Traralgon 6/243 (Ewan Williams 73, Ethan Foley 55, Lachie Patterson 45, Tye Hourigan 27 not out, Jordan Hack 2/31)

Leongatha and District 6/239(cc) (Alex Geyer 59, Jack Hume 46, Matthew Allen 43, Aaron Bardwell 25) def. Central Gippsland 216 (Liam White 91, Leo Connolly 48, Blair Clymo 22, Blake Christopher 3/19, Alex Geyer 2/36, Jack Hume 2/45)

Warragul & District 9/126(cc) (Will Gown 24, Nathan Whitford 4/20, Jake Wynd 3/23) def. Sale-Maffra 123 (Brock Williams 40, Jake Wynd 35, Charlie Wans, Korey Carrison and Eddie McGillivray – 2 wickets each)