Rovers claim under-16 honours

The Traralgon and District Junior Cricket Association under 14 and 16 grand finals were held at the weekend and large crowds witnessed two fantastic games, highlighted by some incredible performances.

In the under 16s Rovers (3/203) defeated Churchill (3/201) in perfect conditions at Stoddart Park and lifted the Brian Symons premiership trophy.

Churchill won the toss and batted first and in an incredible start to the day Joel Mason and Sam Findlay were unstoppable as they posted an opening stand of 153.

First to go was Mason for a superb 108, while Findlay did a great job before he was out for 51.

Ryan Lowrie made 20 not out as Churchill set the chase at 201.

Kaleb Pearce took a total of 2/50 for Rovers.

Rovers started their run chase well but lost Josh Meyer for two.

This brought the in form Ewan Williams to the crease to join Tyler Pearce.

These two were in great touch as they added 146 before Pearce was out for 52.

Williams played shots to all parts of the oval, posting a game-winning 124 not out and locked in the man of the match award.

Glengarry (6/163) defeated Traralgon West (3/146) for the Brownbill Shield.

Winning the toss and batting first, Glengarry set a good tempo.

Liam Little was the standout knocking a brilliant 81 not out, while Darion Duncan was fantastic with a well-made 43.

Traralgon West did everything it could and played a great game but ultimately just went down by 18 runs.

Campbell Peavey was in super touch with a well-made 54 not out and was well supported by Oliver Turnbull who was in good touch making 48.

TDJCA Trophy winners

Alan Anton Memorial Shield – Under 16 batting average and aggregate – Max Luckie Centrals CC 137 runs at 68.50

Under 16 Batting Aggregate – Hunter Eenges CATS /Imperials CC – 201 runs

Jim Anton Memorial Shield – Under 16 – bowling average and aggregate – Isaac Brown – 11 wickets at 6.45

Wes Pump Memorial Shield – Under 14 batting average and aggregate – Liam Little, Glengarry CC – 353 runs at 353.

David and Mary Little Shield – Under 14 bowling average and aggregate – Liam Little Glengarry CC -10 wickets at 6.70. Jordan Veitch – Cats CC bowling aggregate 10 wickets .

AGL TDJCA -Under 16 champion player – Chase Wilkerson – 37 points

AGL TDJCA – Under 14 champion player – Liam Little Glengarry -85 points