Raiders routed

The race for premiership honours in Traralgon and District cricket is now down to five sides with Gormandale, Churchill, Glengarry, Ex Students and Raiders all fighting for a top four spot.

Centrals and Toongabbie are now out of the race after crushing losses at the weekend.

Gormandale v Raiders

In the match of the round Raiders won the toss and opened batting.

Jason Macfarlane was out for a golden duck on the first ball of the year and it did not improve for Raiders. At 5/45, with Brad Knowles back in the shed, Raiders was in strife.

Michael Higgins made a stoic 48 to rescue his side as they were dismissed for 110 off 39 overs.

Will Cheatley, with figures of 3/28, was the main wicket taker, while two direct hit run outs helped the Tigers take control.

Raiders chased early wickets but was hammered by Adrian Burgiel (42) and Kent Hammond (55), who put on 73 runs for the opening stand.

In a tremendous boost for the Tigers Grantley Switzer returned to form with 51, which included five sixes. The Tigers used the remaining overs for some much needed time in the middle, as Stuart Anderson made 45 as the Tigers romped to victory to finish with a total of 289.

Leigh Jensen, with 4/52, was best for Raiders.

Churchill v Toongabbie

Churchill batted first and compiled a good total of 198.

Ben Kearns made 29, while the stars for the Cobras were Brad Wright with 58 and Nick Duncan who also scored 58.

Josh Sandy and Anthony Scott took three wickets each.

Toongabbie started poorly when skipper John Mayman was out for four and then Michael Dunn nine. Anthony Scott (31), Steve Nicholls (20) and Matt Golding (32) all got starts but it was not enough as the Rams’ finals hopes ended after they were dismissed for 157.

Brad Wright, Dillon Leys and Chris Williams each took two wickets.

Glengarry v Centrals

Centrals won the toss and decided to bat, but capitulated to be all out for 70 after 37 overs.

Jarrod Allan top scored with 22, while Frank Marks was the star for Glengarry with figures of 4/6 off five overs and Steve Wright took 3/12.

Glengarry lost only two wickets on its way to victory. Sam Marks (35 not out) and Hayden Ross-Schultz (22) got the runs.

Glengarry has moved closer to a top two finish while Centrals’ finals chances have ended.

Rovers v Ex Students

Rovers batted first and slumped to 9/86 before a last wicket stand of 47 helped it reach a total of 133.

Peter Ingwersen top scored with an unbeaten 58, Simon Duff made 29 and Fazz Hasan made 13. Rob Voss destroyed the Rovers’ bats with figures of 4/12.

The Sharks dropped only four wickets on the road to victory.

Greg Munro scored 53 and Rick Battista made 45.

Imperials v Traralgon West

Traralgon West batted first and was bowled out for 116.

John Bell scored 21 while Tim Fitch made 30. In reply, Imperials lost five wickets as it reached a score of 156.

Alex Butler (46 not out), Brendan McGregor (26) and Matt Ross (25) batted well to ensure the Imperials secured the points.

B grade

Toongabbie 145 defeated by Churchill 178 (T Spark 55, R Jellis 30); Morwell Tigers Yinnar Raiders 3/96 (P Xerri 33, K Holt 33, L Linton 25 and 3/28) d Gormandale 90 (C Bell 30); Traralgon West 101 (B Griffith 36, J Rogers 4/17) d Imperials 83 (D Carpenter 3/17, P Dunstan 3/14); Centrals 155 (D Loprese 33, N Celima 4/18, B Ould 3/19) d Glengarry148 (D Little 27, J Porter 6/30); Ex Students (P Richards 72, A Jaensch 54, J Beani 48, D Jones 5/27, L Hendersen 3/12) d Rovers.