Drouin dominates midweek finals



DROUIN usurped minor premier Traralgon RSL to claim the division one West Gippsland Bowls midweek pennant title last week at Yallourn.

With a slower home surface than many, Traralgon RSL was confronted with a quick green for the final and Drouin took full advantage.

Fielding two men for the tie, Robert Burke and Steve Kantor as leads, home and away season runner up Drouin was out for a repeat of its semi-final triumph over the same opposition, and once it hit the lead never looked back.

In a tough day out for Traralgon RSL its division three side also went down in the grand final to Garfield.

Yinnar claimed the division two flag and Trafalgar won by three shots over Yinnar in division four.

The 15 shot division one triumph means Drouin will now play off against South Gippsland champion San Remo tomorrow at Traralgon Bowls Club to determine the Strzelecki champion.



division one final

Denise Hamilton (Drouin) def Pam Jowett (RSL) 26-17

Margaret Rhodes (Drouin) def Marianne Hodson (RSL) 23-21

Mary Smethurst (Drouin) def Margaret Gibbins (RSL) 23-19

Division two Yinnar def Moe 76-54

Division three Garfield def Traralgon RSL 80-65

Division four Trafalgar def Yinnar 47-44

Kate Tilbury Shield

MORWELL went unbeaten at the Kate Tilbury Shield round robin for division four sides on Friday.

After the first two rounds there were only two unbeaten teams, with premiers Trafalgar ahead on shots and Morwell.

Trafalgar drew with Warragul, leaving the Morwell team of Shirley Turner, Jill Middlemiss, Glenda Thompson and Louisah Edge to claim the shield.


Morwell (2) 6 points +17 shots, Trafalgar (2) 5 +20. Traralgon (4) 4 +12, Drouin (3) 4 +2. Traralgon RSL (3) 4 -3, Warragul (3) 3 +16. Yallourn (3) 3 +7, Yinnar (2) 3 -3. Longwarry 2 -4, Drouin (4) 2 -14 shots. Moe (3) 0 -18 shots, Trafalgar Park 0 -32 shots