New colours for club quintet



FIVE former Morwell Club bowlers turned out in Traralgon colours when the two sides met in round one of the West Gippsland Bowls season.

Michael Yacoub, Ian Kirkup, Ian Hilsley, Mat Ferrari and Scot Gillespie helped Traralgon overcome their former club at Traralgon on Saturday following an offseason change of allegiance.

Morwell Club showed determination prior to the tea break to keep Traralgon in sight with a three shot difference.

Following the break, one Traralgon team struggled to recoup shots and two other rinks were struggling as Morwell Club clawed into the lead.

With 10 ends to go a tight game was in store with Morwell Club ahead by three shots.

However, two Traralgon quartets rallied back with multiple scores to achieve a hard fought win, 104-93 with three rinks triumphant.

After achieving promotion to Div one last season Warragul proved it would be no pushover in the top grade with a one shot win over the premier Trafalgar.

Drouin and Traralgon RSL had a draw, while Yallourn scored a convincing win against neighbours Moe.


Traralgon def Morwell Club 104-93

Matt Ferrari (T) 20 lt Ron Whitten (MC) 21, Ian Kirkup (T) 27 d Ryan Marsden (MC) 21, Scott Cotterel (T) 28 d Ron Smith (MC) 27 and Chris Le Lievre (T) 29 d Wayne Lynch (MC) 24.