Morwell triple threat


A TRIO of Morwell basketballers recently mixed it with the state’s best, playing for Victoria Country at the Australian Country Junior Basketball Cup in Albury and the Southern Cross Basketball Challenge in Wantirna.

Maddison Knowles represented the Victorian Bushrangers at the AJCBC in the under 14 girls division, while Maddison Bond and Harry Pepper played in the under 15 division at the SCC for the girls’ Bushrangers and boys’ Goldminers, respectively.

Their state representation came after selection to take part in the 20-week Basketball Victoria Country Regional Basketball Academy training program which started in April last year under the expert guidance and tutelage of Morwell and Victoria Country Basketball stalwart Joe Brouns.

They were then chosen for the Basketball Vic Country Gold Nugget Basketball Development Camp in Shepparton in October prior to gaining selection for Vic Country.

All three players will now return to continue duties representing Latrobe City Energy in the VJBL as well as playing in their respective local domestic basketball competitions.

Moe and Traralgon players also enjoyed success at the AJCBC.

Jazmin Shelley (Moe) and Chelsea D’Angelo (Traralgon) were members of the championship winning under 16 girls Goldminers team, while Innika Hodgson of Traralgon was part of the runner-up side, Victoria Bushrangers.


Under 14 Girls – NSW Ospreys 59 SA Magpies 56

Under 14 Boys – New Zealand 68 NSW Ospreys 36

Under 16 Girls – Vic Goldminers 80 Vic Bushrangers 69

Under 16 Boys – NSW Waratahs 79 Vic Bushrangers 60

Under 18 Women – SA Magpies 54 Vic Settlers 53

Under 18 Men – NSW Kookaburras 87 NSW Waratahs 72

Latrobe Valley Vic Country representatives

SCBC girls

Kendall Armistead (Moe) u14

Maddison Bond (Morwell) u15

Stephanie Bryce (Traralgon) u15

SCBC boys

Austin Shelley (Moe) u14

Colby Kennedy (Traralgon) u14

Luis D’Angelo (Traralgon) u 14

Nathan Noblett (Morwell) u14

Brock Smith (Moe) u15

Harrison Pepper (Morwell) u15

Wade Anderson (Moe) u15

ACJBC girls

Bride Gleeson (Traralgon) u14

Maddison Knowles (Morwell) u14

Chelsea D’Angelo (Traralgon) u16

Innika Hodgson (Traralgon) u16

Jaz Shelley (Moe) u16

Abbey Noblett (Morwell) u18

Casey Sherriff (Traralgon) u18

Jordan Pyle (Traralgon) u18


Matt Bond (Traralgon) u18

Nathan Catherwood (Traralgon) u18

Rhys Anderson (Moe) u18