Morwell women chase flag

MORWELL will contest this weekend’s 2015 Gippsland Cricket League women’s grand final against Bairnsdale at Keegan Street Reserve.

The home side has plenty of confidence after suffering just the one loss this season, when an undermanned combination travelled to Bairnsdale.

In its final home and away match last weekend Morwell comfortably defeated a youthful Sale/Maffra side with skipper Robin Fitzpatrick, Lisa Bowring and Simone Clymo all starring with the bat, while Rebecca Craythorn, Megan Clymo and Ryley Reid led the bowling attack.

Morwell won the last game between this weekend’s finalists, bowling Bairnsdale out for a miserly 26 runs at home.

Fitzpatrick claimed an amazing 5/2 and Bowring 3/2.

With 40 overs per side and 40 metre boundaries the final should provide entertaining cricket.

The match starts at 11am on Sunday.

MORWELL Robin Fitzpatrick (captain), Lisa Bowring, Megan Clymo, Simone Clymo, Nicole Faltum, Joe Laukens, Maryanne Lugton, Ryley Reid, Zoe Treloar, Rebecca Craythorn, Bridie Kimpton, Taylah Kilpatrick