Country crushes City


A quartet of Gippsland Power’s TAC Cup stars featured in Victoria Country’s victory over its metropolitan counterpart in last Sunday’s third round of the division one under 18 national championships.

Ben Ainsworth (Morwell), Ryan Hearn (Morwell), Nash Holmes (Sale) and Harry McKay (Warragul) were all on song as Vic Country remained undefeated in the competition by downing Vic Metro by 35 points at Geelong.

It was the second time country has accounted for city this year, with the same result observed in round one of the championships.

Vic Country’s next assignment is in Adelaide on Sunday when it takes on reigning champion South Australia.

Vic. Country 6.7 9.7 12.12 14.14 (98) Vic. Metro. 0.1 3.4 6.7 9.9 (63)

Vic. Country best: Daniel Capiron (Dandenong), Kieran Collins (Langwarrin), Darcy Parish (Winchelsea) Jarrod Berry (Horsham), Darcy Tucker (Horsham), Rhys Mathieson (Bell Park) and Joshua Schache (Seymour).