Morwell decimates Lions



Moe’s winning run came to a grinding halt at the weekend when it was overcome by Morwell at Ted Summerton Reserve.

Morwell won the toss and ordered the Lions to bat in a bold move that would soon prove the right one.

Opener Nathan Lee was dismissed for 20 and was soon followed by Riley Baldi for just four with Lewis Harper having a hand in both wickets.

A middle order collapse ensued and Moe lost Noah Kane, Kane O’Connell and Patrick Spiteri for ducks.

Things didn’t improve for the Lions and they were all out for 61 after 19 overs.

Brendan Brincat was key for Morwell with six 6/22 including the wickets of Lee, Kane and O’Connell.

Lee’s 20 was the highest knock for Moe in an otherwise unforgettable innings that included four ducks.

Robert Webber continued his hot run of form for Morwell in the run chase and scored in the 60s for the third consecutive week, finishing with 62.

Blake Mills top scored for Morwell with 79 while Craig Giddens contributed 42 of his side’s eventual total of 288.

Nathan Lee and Andrew Philip shared the bowling duties for Moe with two wickets each while Jagbir Singh took one.

Morwell will head in to its round five encounter against defender premier Latrobe as hot favourites this weekend while Moe will host Jeeralang-Boolarra at Ted Summerton Reserve.

Mirboo North v Jeeralang-Boolarra

Mirboo North made light work of Jeeralang-Boolarra at the weekend to notch it’s third win for the season.

The Tigers won the toss and elected to bat and lost the wicket of Hamaiz Mahmood’s for five but never looked like dropping its guard thereafter.

Saad Quereshi opened with a knock of 35 while Rob Phoenix’s 75 was the top score of the innings.

Jed Alexander also passed the half-century mark and made 52 of his side’s 191.

Chris Blake was the only multiple wicket-taker for the Panthers with two including Alexander and Shane Peters.

Jeeralang-Boolarra never managed to get the run chase underway and looked in trouble after losing Ben McCormack, Nick Duncan, Mark Rawson and Nick Reed for 15.

The Panthers weren’t able to salvage their innings and were all out for 67 in the 34th over.

Will Cheatley and Dale Banks led the way for Mirboo North with ball in hand and took three wickets each.

Rohan Hughes was also serviceable with two wickets while Rob Phoenix took one.

Mirboo North travels to face Trafalgar in round five while Jeeralang-Boolarra will take on Moe.

Latrobe v Trafalgar

Trafalgar has claimed its first win of the season with a sensational round four victory against defending premier Latrobe at the weekend.

The Ships were sent in to bat first and looked in strife after losing the wicket of Nick Gurney and James Heslop for 10, but a steadying partnership of 78 between Brodie Burgess and Marco Higgins put them back in contention.

Burgess scored 41 while Higgins went on to reach a half-century and top score with 60 of his side’s 143.

Tyron Gamage lead the way for Latrobe with 4/15 including five maidens while singles went to Jon Hayes, Mark Lawrence and Brad Aitken.

The defending premier was never allowed to attack in the run chase and was all out for 74 in the 42nd over.

Hayden Kimpton’s knock of 21 was the highest of the day for Latrobe.

Zack Brown enjoyed a day out with the ball and took 5/14 and Liam Durkin claimed 3/23.

Latrobe is faced with a tough ask when it comes up against in-form side Morwell in round five action while Trafalgar will look to continue its winning ways when it hosts Mirboo North.