Top order gives Lions edge



Moe and Mirboo North headlined round seven action in the CGCA in a battle for second place at Ted Summerton Reserve.

The Lions won the toss and elected to bat and looked in trouble early after opener Noah Kane fell for a duck at the hand of Will Cheatley, while Riley Baldi followed soon after for 13, as the hosts slumped to 2/23.

The ever-reliable Andrew Philip steadied the ship for Moe at first drop and notched his third half-century for the season with 71 to take his season tally to 387.

Moe was steady after the loss of Philip at 4/193 and cemented its position in the box seat as Max Wakefield reached 102 to take the host’s first innings total to 6/224.

Rob Phoenix was the most economical of the Mirboo North bowlers with 3/49 while Cheatley finished with two and spinner Dale Banks one.

Mirboo North bat out the day when play resumes if it is to steal the win.

Trafalgar v Morwell

Trafalgar was sent in to bat against Morwell on day one and slumped to a dangerous 3/10 before gathering to rise to the occasion.

Despite the loss of openers Nick Gurney and Brodie Burgess for two each, Trafalgar regrouped to set the ladder leader a respectable target of 160.

Christian Burgess was the top-scorer for the Ships in the opening innings with 46 and James Heslop was also crucial with 36, while Marco Higgins (27) and David Bremner (20) also chipped in.

Lewis Harper was the pick of the bowlers for Morwell with 5/41. Sam Mooney was the other multiple wicket-taker with two.

Morwell is in a spot of bother in reply and has already lost the wickets of Rob Webber, Mark Cukier, and Dylan Day to sit at 3/39 after 15 overs of play.

With Craig Giddens and Sam Mooney still at the crease and weapons Brendan Brincat and Blake Mills still to come, the game is far from over but Morwell will need to see out day two when play resumes this weekend.

Latrobe v Jeeralang Boolarra

Reigning premier Latrobe will need to defend well on day two against Jeeralang-Boolarra this weekend after it was bundled out for 98 in the first innings at Peter Siddle Oval.

Latrobe never got its attack underway and opener Bradley Aitken’s 21 was the best any Shark could manage.

Justine Vajler was next best with 19 while Will Kennedy managed 16 and Tyron Gamage 15.

Stanley Urbanic and Mark Rawson shared the bowling honours for Jeeralang-Boolarra with three wickets each and Matt McGrath took two.

The Panthers were steady in reply and poised to take the win at 3/86 at stumps on day one.

Openers Ben Duffy and Rawson did their bit to put Jeeralang-Boolarra in the box seat with 20 and 24, respectively.

Tyron Gamage did all the heavy lifting for Latrobe with the ball and finished with all three day-one wickets.