Sharks named in team of the year

TWO Latrobe players have been named in Gippsland Cricket’s 2014/15 team of the year.

Anthony Bloomfield was chosen as an opening batsman and Chris Johnson as one of four specialist bowlers.

Positions are decided on statistical achievements in the home and away season of various association competitions in the region.

Finals, twenty20 matches and representative cricket are excluded.

Curiously, no member of the side featured in the All-Gippsland team of the year, which is selected using the same Victorian Country Cricket League criteria for Gippsland Cricket League performances.

All 12 players selected are now in the running to be selected in the Victorian Country team of the year.

Opening batsmen

Mitchell Clark (Nerrena C.C – Leongatha District C.A)

Anthony Bloomfield (Latrobe C.C – Central Gippsland C.A)

Upper/middle order

Brad Scott (Rosedale-Kilmany C.C – Sale Maffra C.A)

Gamini Kumara (Yarragon C.C – Warragul District C.A)

Gavin Britt (Wonthaggi Workman C.C – Leongatha District C.A)

Ryan Williams (Hallora C.C – Warragul District C.A)


Amila Ratnaike (Leongatha Town C.C – Leongatha District C.A)

Wicket keeper

Nathan Massey (Bundalaguah C.C – Sale Maffra C.A)


Chris Johnson (Latrobe C.C – Central Gippsland C.A)

Nathan Smith (West Bairnsdale C.C – Bairnsdale C.A)

Madura Weerasinghe Silva (Leongatha Town C.C – Leongatha District C.A)

Simon Gardiner (Drouin C.C – Warragul District C.A)