Cobras sweep LVDCL season awards


The Latrobe Valley and District Cricket League held its inaugural presentation night on the eve of grand finals last week.

Minor premiers and eventual flag winners Churchill took out the senior club championship and, predictably, Cobras players swept the awards pool in the Premier A grade section.

Stalwart John Keighran won the batting aggregate award with 515 for the 2018/19 season, teammate Brendan Mason clinched the batting average (37.42 runs) and Ross Whelpdale took the bowling aggregate with 34 wickets.

Mirboo North skipper Rob Phoenix took out the Byrne/James Medal for best Premier A grade player of the season and Morwell won the cricket administration award.

Country Week batting aggregate: Rhys Holdsworth (Trafalgar) 204 runs

Country Week bowling aggregate: Ross Allen (Centrals), Ryan Harvey (Churchill), Ryan Ayres (Churchill) 13 wickets

Knowles Medal (representative player of the year): Ross Allen (Churchill)

George Medal (young player of the year): Leo Connolly (Trafalgar)

Administration award: Morwell

Volunteer of the year: Michael Chapman (CATS)

Junior club championship: Willow Grove

Senior club championship: Churchill

Most improved umpire: Theo Poursanidis

Mussared Medal (umpire of the year): Dean Treloar

Freshwater Medal (under 16 player of the year): Jeeralang-Boolarra

Premier A grade awards:

Batting aggregate: John Keighran (Churchill) 515 runs

Batting average: Brendan Mason (Churchill) 37.42 runs

Bowling aggregate: Ross Whelpdale (Churchill) 34 wickets

Bowling average: Rory Hare (CATS) 19 wickets at 11.26 runs

Byrne/James Medal: Robert Phoenix (Mirboo North) 14 votes

A grade awards:

Batting aggregate: Brett Duncan (Jeeralang-Boolarra) 458 runs

Batting average: Leo Connolly (Trafalgar) 48.43 runs

Bowling aggregate: Ross Allen (Centrals) 32 wickets

Bowling average: Ross Allen (Centrals) 32 wickets at 6.84 runs

A grade player of the year: Ross Allen (Centrals) 17 votes

Premier B grade awards:

Batting aggregate: Brody Hams (Willow Grove) 927 runs

Batting average: Brody Hams (Willow Grove) 84.27 runs

Bowling aggregate: Chris Williams (Churchill) 36 wickets

Bowling average: Chris Williams (Churchill) 36 wickets at 7.67 runs

Premier B grade player of the year: Brody Hams (Willow Grove) 34 votes

B grade awards:

Batting aggregate: Daniel Mobourne (Moe) 378 runs

Batting average: Jarryd Atkinson (Moe) 58.33 runs

Bowling aggregate: Daniel Mobourne (Moe) 28 wickets

Bowling average: Travis Pickering (Thorpdale) 21 wickets at 7.33

Marslen Medal (B grade player of the year): Shannon Pickering (Thorpdale) 21 votes

C grade awards:

Batting aggregate: Adam Chester (Yallourn North) 497 runs

Batting average: Donald McDougall (Latrobe) 71.17 runs

Bowling aggregate: Leeroy Freeman (Yallourn North), Luke Wilson (CATS) 22 wickets

Bowling average: Leeroy Freeman (Yallourn North) 22 wickets at 6.23 runs

Mathison Medal (C grade player of the year): Adam Chester (Yallourn North), Donald McDougall (Latrobe) 16 votes

Premier A grade team of the year:

Michael Higgins (MTY Raiders), Mark Cukier (Morwell), Brendan Mason (Churchill), John Keighran (Churchill, captain), Rob Phoenix (Mirboo North), Blake Mills (Morwell),

Robert Webber (Morwell), Jordan Campbell (Morwell), Ryan Harvey (Churchill), Sam Price (Moe), Ross Whelpdale (Churchill), Dale Banks (Mirboo North)

A grade team of the year:

Brett Duncan (Jeeralang-Boolarra), Matt Brewer (Yallourn North), Nilanthe Thillekarathna (Traralgon West), Mark Rawson (Jeeralang-Boolarra), Leo Connolly (Trafalgar), Hayden Kimpton (Latrobe), Rhys Holdsworth (Trafalgar, captain), Sam Gray (Cenrals), Ross Allen (Centrals), Marc Fenech (Centrals), Stan Urbanic (Jeeralang-Boolarra), Luke Sumner (Yallourn North).